Winners at the Sevenoaks District Council ‘Make it Happen’ Awards

Winners – Congratulations to Edenbridge Community Volunteers. 

Last night at Sevenoaks District Council’s ‘Make it Happen’ Awards, Edenbridge Town Council and all of the amazing volunteers in Edenbridge were nominated for ’Volunteer Group of the Year’.

This is a great accolade and is in recognition of how amazing the people of Edenbridge are, and especially so over the past two years of the pandemic. Local groups supported each other, neighbours looked out for one another, and 80 volunteers came forward to register under the Care for Our Community scheme to help residents who were unable to get out with medicine collections, shopping, phone buddy.  Collecting the Award on behalf for the Town Council was Cllr Angela Baker and representing the Care for Our Community volunteers was John Nichol.

Edenbridge was represented in eight categories. We are delighted that Rose Briggs (Community Warden) and her litter pickers and bulb planting volunteers picked up the Highly Commended Award for ‘Contribution to the Environment.  Collecting the Award with Rose was volunteer Ben Brownless.

Anthony Shipwright was the winner of the ‘Best Youth Group’ for all the work he does with young people at the Eden Christian Trust Club. West Kent HOUSE was also represented and acknowledged for their continued support with young people in Edenbridge.

Other categories and Awards went to:

Community Arts: Edenbridge Songsters – Jacky Hintiz -Highly Commended
Older Person Group: Bridges – Highly Commended
Charity Project of the Year: Edenbridge Food Bank – Dave White

 Well done to all the winners in the Sevenoaks District. There were some incredible and moving stories and the Awards ceremony was a great way to recognise some of the unsung heroes in our communities. For more information and pictures click here – Community and voluntary awards | Sevenoaks District Council

Cllr Baker with volunteer John Nicol with the Award for Community Group of the Year
Community Warden, Rose, and volunteer Ben Brownless collecting the Award for Contribution to the Environment