Community News Open Spaces

Hever Castle digs out prizes for garden winners!

Congratulations to everyone that took part in this year’s Edenbridge gardening competition – Ready, Steady, Grow.

Councillors enjoyed visiting the gardens and meeting residents back in July to help them decide the winners. As ever, they were really impressed with the level of skill and enthusiasm for gardening that was shown.

Chairman Cllr Bob Todd said: “From allotments, to small containers and giant sunflowers, it was great to see everyone’s efforts this year. It was especially nice to see young people getting involved and showing enthusiasm for gardening – hopefully it has sparked an interest that will continue throughout their life.”

A presentation evening was held on 5 September at Rickards Hall to announce the winners and present the prizes that were generously given by Hever Castle & Gardens.

The Council’s Open Spaces Committee has agreed to run the competition again next year, so if you didn’t take part this time, there will be another opportunity! Gardening has many benefits – physical, mental and social, and taking care of our outdoor spaces can also instil a sense of pride, as well as being good for the environment and wildlife.

Scroll down to see some photos from the presentation evening and the full list of winners.

And the winners for 2023 are…

Front/Back Garden                                                
Winner: Auralucia Brook                                                          
Runner-up: Carol Connor
Highly Commended: Michael and Rosemary Hill

Winner: Min Reynolds
Runner-up: Michael and Rosemary Hill

Nature-Friendly Garden         
Winner: Jane Moore
Runner-up: Ms J Burton
Highly Commended: Auralucia Brook

Local Schools/Groups             
Winner: Hever CofE School         
Runner-up: Marsh Green Pre-School
Highly Commended: Edenbridge Beavers

Winner: Pat Rayner
Runner-up: Min Reynolds
Highly Commended: Sue Butcher
Highly Commended: Tracy Jeal

Young Gardener
Victoria Jepp
Griggs family 

Tallest Sunflower
Winner:  Evelyn Luck
Runner up: Darcey Wilks

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons